Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Wet day movie afternoon

It's always nice to be at home again after a wee holiday:

Own choice of music, if at all.
Electric blanket.
Catching up on all the programmes you hope you've recorded on the new TiVo box.
Coffee machine to hand.
Reading Private Eye and The Week - that's all the reading I manage these days.


It's a bit miserable out, but I ventured down to the Letting Agency to deliver the blacksmith's quote and to get a cheque from one of the absentee landlords. No cheque available, they will post it today. What is my address? Er, the same as their client's! Just one more tardy payer and then hopefully get them fixed next week. The joys of living in a tenement sometimes wear a bit thin...

I'm the scourge of the students who tie their bikes to the balustrades - they're not the ones who end up paying to replace them. No, actually, the one young chap who has done it a couple of times is very nice and apologetic and swears he won't do it again. The tenants in the top flat carry their bikes right up stairs! Keeps them fit.

I took my macro lens and my monopod down the road with me, so it took me ages. I do feel a bit conspicuous carrying the monopod, it looks a bit like a lethal weapon. But I haven't noticed any sideways glances or people crossing the road to get away from me.

It's amazing what you see when peering in hedges. I'm now going to set up the home cinema, JR has gone out for supplies, and so the afternoon/ evening will be lazily spent being entertained on the big or the small screen. With added comestibles/liquid refreshments.

Sounds pretty good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.