The Last Time

The main thing I did today was pick up the rest of my stuff at the Kralingse Zoom (sounds like 'zome', which actually translates into 'edge', which is where you get the English word 'seam').  I had to make an appointment, of course, and this time I brought along my last 'weapon' -- hubby!  Yes, despite the bad back, I knew he was going to be very helpful.  After a short wait like last time, I was accompanied upstairs.  Our former office was even emptier than I expected, although colleague ISS had already warned me about that.  I looked into the three red rectangular storage bins and took out almost everything, then realized that I would need one whole bin myself if I was to take everything down in one go.  I asked if hubby could be allowed to come upstairs and help me out and so they fetched him.  To make things easier, we loaded the bin onto a small platform with wheels and then rolled the whole thing into the lift and then straight to the car.  After unloading everything, we went back inside to return the platform and the bin, and then the guy offered to take me up one last time to make sure there was nothing else I wanted.  Except for a handful of plastic folders, no, there was, finally, nothing else.  I already miss the office.  It was the most convivial office I had ever worked in.  That dinner we planned for next week should and will push through, for sure.

Anyway, we drove home and I told hubby to just leave the stuff in the car as I was too tired to take it all out, and I didn't want him to unload anything either because I'd then be forced to organize them on the spot, and I was just not in the mood for that.  In the evening, hubby drove his own car to his bridge evening and about halfway the evening, I took the stuff out and dumped them in the hall.  I was able to pick out some things which I brought to the room upstairs, and the rest stayed down, even after hubby returned.  What a mess this move has been.  If we ever return to the old building, I will not take the stuff back.  Once is enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.