Perilous Pelican Problems

I spent about an hour directly underneath several (12-16) pelicans, craning my neck and camera upward for a unique perspective. I thought I was safe, thinking I was tucked in underneath the overhang. Then...it happened.

Realizing I was in a precarious position, the pretty posing pelican pooped out its pabulum with a very proficient purpose, and propelled its poop downward.

Trust me, it was not a paucity of poop...it was not a picayune pile. It was a ponderous pelican pelting, and it ruined my pelican-posing picture party. It was pellucid, pungent, putrid, and piquant, and part of me wanted to pulverize the pooping pelican.

It got the front and back of my shirt, the back of my neck, my entire left arm, my camera, and my camera bag.

When I got home, Lisa made me put my shirt in a plastic bag, and forced me to go take a shower. The shirt is washed, but my camera and  bag and car seat are still ripe.

At least for tonight...THE PELICAN IS NOT...I REPEAT...NOT...MY FAVORITE BIRD!!!

I put a dozen shots on my Flickr page. More underneathers, and a couple of fliers.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/76781400@N06/albums/72157665544236698

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.