stellarossa

By stellarossa

Poker night

He got the first of his 21 presents for his 21st a day early as tonight he hosts a poker night themed party with old friends, some from primary school.

There's a magnum of Prosecco in the fridge, a dozen pizzas, home made brownies and mum's 'praline'. I am banished (thank goodness) so go to see my friend Sophie in her house in the woods near Shotover. We sit in front of the fire and look at the newspapers. It's a depressing read for a two people who have almost 45 years with Oxfam between us. The vast vast vast majority of all the people who have ever worked for Oxfam are good, decent, committed, hardworking people with integrity and who work here through a desire to help and care for others. I feel we are all being demonised by these dreadful press stories.

Later I hear from Tom who has been doing GB rowing trials today in awful weather in Boston. He was dissatisfied with the results (he is so hard on himself - he is up against Olmpians and world champions and one of the youngest there). I think he did fine... "but you would say that, you're my mum!" he replies. 

When I get home the party is still going so I put in my earplugs and go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.