A 'Short' Drive

To take a break from my MOOC and from putting stuff away, hubby asked me to drive him to pick up some homeopathic stuff in town, and then I could look for a nice shot for the blog and pick him up afterwards.  I said I'd be back in an hour and I ended up returning 1.5 hours later.

The idea was to drive to Rijsbergen and Zundert and maybe spot something nice there.  I've hardly been to that area and exploring it wasn't a bad idea.  Along the way, though, I didn't see anything worth stopping the car for, let alone actually stepping out of the car and shivering in the cold.  I then had the wild idea of driving to Antwerp, even knowing that that would have been really far, and then I'd have to go to town, park properly, and take a walk, so instead I took the circuitous way back to Breda by detouring through the north of Antwerp province -- Brecht, St. Lenaert, Rijckevorsel, Hoogstraten.  The sky wasn't too dark when I left and cleared up even further during the drive.  By the time I was between Rijckevorsel and Hoogstraten, the sun had changed colour and I knew I had my shot for today.

While driving through Hoogstraten, I remembered the number of times I'd gone there in connection with genealogical research.  I recognized the Town Hall, where the archives are located and which I visited so often that some locals thought I worked there.  I saw the French fries café where I used to buy a snack (Belgian fries are heavenly ... really), and I still remembered the road to the right, leading to Galder and finally to Breda.  It was raining again by the time hubby stepped into the car.

Work tomorrow -- the start of Block 4 ... bleuh ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.