Life and me

By CarolineL

Driving up the M1

Feeling rather nervous as I had never hired a car myself before, and not liking to think how many years it's been since I last drove on a motorway, having lived in sleepy west cork for almost thirty years, I set off this morning to pick up the car.
I found my way back to Maya's house to pick up them and all our stuff, and off we set.
I needn't have been nervous. It was all fine. A good new car and those smooth roads! And a sat nav is a wonderful thing.
By late afternoon we arrived in beautiful Derbyshire and found the house of my ex-daughter in law and my grandson Oscar. So brilliant to see him !
We met their new lovely family and stayed for dinner and good chats. It was very good to see L again, I realised how much I had missed her, and it really was like seeing an old friend, like no time had passed at all. In spite of all the massive changes in our lives since we last parted.

Then taking Oscar with us we went to get settled into our holiday cottage, a beautiful old mill cottage, one of the first built there at the start of the Industrial Revolution to house the mill workers.

We had a pleasant evening, Oscar and I getting re-acquainted over Lego.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.