Sunshine on the Union Canal

No wonder the British talk about weather all the time when it changes from one extreme to another on a daily basis. Yesterday was dank and misty, today is springlike with warm sunshine and blue skies. The world seemed to sparkle, even the puddles, while the crocuses judged it sunny enough to open up and lift their faces towards the sun- (see extra image).

His Lordship and I parted company this morning as I wanted to walk along the canal to see all the changes there have been since we were last there on bikes.

The newly built Boroughmuir High School on the site of the dismantled Fountainbridge brewery looks impressive and the landscaping of the towpath in front to give a large paved area adds to the amenity of the area.
The transition from the old school building in Viewforth , 105 years old, to the brand new one takes place tomorrow. It is a school that my mother, her brother and sisters all attended at the beginning of the last century, which gives me an added historic interest in it.

Further on, the tow path narrows again as it passes Craiglockhart primary school on its way towards Colinton. I took the blip of moored boats at the point I left the canal to return by Harrison Park and a circuitous route through leafy Merchiston back to Bruntsfield and home to find His Lordship sitting in the sun awaiting his lunch.
I might take advantage of the sun myself later on … there is snow forecast for next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.