Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

The Gypsy Market

is what it’s called and where I went today

... to buy me a handbag that my friends think I need as a solo traveller. You know the type I mean .... hardwearing, 10 pockets and zips, made from robust navy/khaki/black/brown canvas fabric, strong straps to wear across your body and clutch to yourself in case the elite squad of robbers/thieves/Navy Seals try to nick your stuff. So I looked and found these bag types and I furrowed my already wrinkly brow and thought to myself ‘Nah’ (just that one word) and my eyes fell upon this beauty. 2 pockets it has, me hearties and 49 diamonds and it’s pink. Yowzer.

The guy wanted 10 euros - so I said 7 - he looked at me and we went into battle (this btw is when my husband used to take big steps backwards and pretend not to know me) - he said 9 - I said 7 again - he said 9/I said 7.... and we agreed on 8.

I got a lipstick and nail polish for a euro each which are exactly the same pink (quality products, obviously) ... so it all came to 10 euros - now is that not a very satisfactory morning’s shopping !

The market was huge, very relaxed and friendly. There was a group playing mellow music, the coffee with milk (none of your old cappucino nonsense) was good and I had a delicious deep fried doughnut thing coated in crunchy sugar.

So I say

Safe, sensible, solo, khaki handbag with the 10 pockets and zips. Nil

Pink, sparkly, bling handbag. One

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.