Broken Hearted

This is the face of a winner, although right here a sad winner who came up a little short tonight. I was so proud of their effort. On a night when our shooting abandoned us, we stayed in the game with tenacious defense, and Grace here, particularly played awesome defense. Sometimes in sport, you come up a little short. That's why you play the game.

Gracie and I had one of those memorable moments before our game. I was in the team room writing our strategy on the board, and in walks Grace. She lay down on the floor and listened to a motivational speaker as her form of inspiration before our game. I finished my notes on the board, and Grace and I walked to the door to head out out on the court. I put my arm around her, and she said to me, "Love you, Pops." I said, "I love you too, Buddy." It was maybe the best moment for me in this long, crazy, great season. Just me and Grace. Now where can any grandfather get this kind of time with a granddaughter?

She played so hard tonight, as did her teammates, but many of their shots didn't drop, and they, came up short. These things happen in sports, and she was beyond disconsolate, and I felt so badly for her. But she and I had that one moment...before the biggest game of her life. That was great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.