A Public Service Announcement

Yesterday evening, our combi boiler stopped working, thus depriving us of hot water and central heating.
We sealed ourselves indoors and preserved all existing warmth.
The outside temperature was minus 5°C with a wind chill factor taking it to minus 15°C.
This morning while waiting for a response from our boiler service engineer, I read a Facebook post that said this is a very common problem in severe weather conditions such as we are experiencing.
The answer is that the condensate in the outlet pipe from the boiler freezes and stops the boiler from operating.
Once I had identified this outlet pipe I poured boiling water over it. I heard the ice rattling down the pipe as it melted, and......voilà we had a fully functioning boiler.
The photo is of our only other source of heat, a fireplace, which when lit, sends its heat up the chimney. Burning pound notes would be more efficient.
The Facebook post that I read was originally posted by AS Plumbing & Gas Ltd in Orpington.
No I am not advertising, I am merely expressing my extreme gratitude for their public-spirited announcement

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.