snow goose (again)

A fair bit of snow yesterday afternoon - not as much as some folks have had, but enough to cause trouble.  We live in a cul-de-sac and the road out is up a wee hill.  Not steep, but a slope nonetheless.  

I watched from the front window as one of my neighbours got stuck in his car halfway up the road.  Other neighbours came to help with shovels and shoulders, but to no avail.  He gave up in the end and glided gracefully back down the hill, round the corner and into his front drive.  I guess his journey was not really neccessary.

A snowplough/gritter lorry came early this morning which will help today.  We’re only a few hundred yards from a main road.  But it could be miles in this sort of weather.

I was up early too.  I’ve been trying to book tickets for our train ride from Oslo to Bergen at the end of May.  They tend to get booked up early and the earliest date for booking ahead is 90 days - which happens to be today.

I’ve done my homework - read travel blogs and so on - because choosing a seat is important.  Anniemay does not like sitting with her back to the engine - we want a window  seat and on the left hand side of the train (for the best views).  

I log on to the Norwegian Rail website at 7.30 this morning and get a nice surprise - any one over the age of 67 can travel halfprice.  I choose first class (bigger seats, free coffee and free Norwegian newspapers ….) and the cost is £57 each.  About the same as my packets of tea ordered from Amazon earlier in the week.

Some of the seats are already taken, but I manage to get two next to a big window and facing in the right direction.   So - 90 days and counting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.