I'm back......

and working again! 
I went down to Exeter this morning (far too early for me) and got a "walk in appointment" at the Genius Bar (Apple people will understand) and only had a wait of about half an hour (in Costa!!). the young chap managed to get into the Macbook and ran a full diagnostic and luckily confirmed that there were no hardware problems. So he erased again although that had already been done and reinstalled El Capitan (as I do not want High Sierra) and explained how to restore everything from the Time Machine when I got back home again.
And all this for free...! Whats not to like. Yes I know Apple kit is expensive but to get this sort of service for free on an old Mac is I think excellent and perhaps why initially they cost considerably more than their competitors.
Anyway I'm very pleased with them and will continue to sing their praises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.