Igor

By Igor

are you being served?

We’re in town to look for a new microwave.  As we walk through John Lewis, Anniemay is drawn to a dress  - “it’s got my name on it.”  (She’s now going to have to change her name).

She wants to try it on but the ladies changing room is out of order.  She’s sent, instead, to the changing room of the lingerie department.  

This is where it gets a bit like that episode from Father Ted where a dozen priests are lost in a lingerie department and Ted has to get them out with the minimum of fuss and embarrasment (which of course does not happen).

I really don’t mind hanging around while Anniemay goes clothes shopping but I do need somewhere to sit down.  I stick my head round the corner of the lingerie department waiting room - it’s empty and there’s a large comfy chair; it’s got my name on it.

I sit fiddling with my phone (taking a blip) and overhear a couple of assistants outside muttering about “that strange man in the changing room”.  Eventually one comes in to check me out.  Fortunately Anniemay is not far behind; explanations are made and all’s well that ends well.  Which it does.  We do not buy the microwave.  Anniemay buys the dress.


Thank you everyone who commented, left stars and hearts for yesterday’s blip.  Makes the effort all worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.