International Women's Day 2018

This is my favourite artwork in Parliament, I'm sure I've blipped it before.

Its by Shauna McMullan and is called Travelling the Distance. It is a collection of 100 handwritten sentences made of porcelain. The artist collected the sentences from 100 women on a journey across Scotland. Each woman was asked to write about another woman they felt had made a significant contribution to life, culture or democracy in Scotland. She also asked each woman to refer her on to another woman and this was her basis for her journey across Scotland.

I really think its fabulous. My two favourites in this pic are:
"When her friends visited you never knew whether to get out the silver or lock it away"
"An inspirational force in Scottish public life - she stands with the great but walks with us all"

I felt it was very apt for International Women's Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.