Our Next Chapter

By SnappyHQ

Me and my mum

I spent the day with my mum today as an early Mother’s Day. My dad cooked us a delicious lunch and over coffee we reminisced looking through some old photo albums. Lots of pictures from before I was even born that I’ve never seen before were good to see. I learnt that my grandma was one of six and my mum has lots of cousins! I also learnt that my dad likes to wear tight shorts with tank tops!

Lots of childhood memories were stored in those albums. Family holidays, our old house where I grew up and friends that have came and gone over the years. I especially liked seeing the photos of me and my mum. They take on a whole new meaning now I’m a mother myself. I see the picture of the tired young lady in hospital smiling at the camera as she breast feeds her newborn and I can sense the emotions and imagine what things she must’ve been thinking as the shutter clicked. Pictures of me taking my first steps and I can almost feel the excitement of my mum behind the lens as she watched her little baby grow and and learn.

I’m so grateful to my mum. I can now appreciate all that she has done for me and my brother. I’m so grateful that my mum and dad gave me such a warm and loving family to grow up in. I never wanted for anything. I had the most amazing childhood and if Phoebe and Alexander look back at their childhoods with half as much happiness as I do, then I know I’m doing a pretty awesome job myself.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mummy’s. Keep up the great work, we are all doing an amazing job!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.