nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Situation Vacant

Morning temperatures above zero at last, but 100% chance of heavy rain according to the BBC forecast.  But no, I will not take the easy option and use the bus; for behold, I have waterproofs, and polished Doc Martens, I CAN get to work without becoming a soggy mess.

I can also get into town after work, lock up my bike in a sensible way with a half-decent lock in daylight and leave it for 10 minutes...apparently not.

Emerged from (an unsuccessful visit to) Cycle Surgery to find the rack holding my bike, and another when I parked, to be very empty.  Stood round looking lost, wondering if I had locked it up somewhere else...wandered up and down the street.  No sign of my bike, no sign of the lock, nothing.  Very clean job.

It wasn't my favourite bike, but a commuter does a lot of miles, so it has to be decent.  This had a Brooks saddle and Mary handle bars on, which I was fond of, and Shimano Alfine 8 speed hub.  It was an eBay bargain, I would probably have paid almost as much just for the hub.

I will be lurking on eBay and gumtree incase it appears and I can point the fuzz in the right direction.  In the meantime I am dreaming up my next commuter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.