Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Litter Louts (edit: but not the trees!)

Took a wander over to the Links this morning to see how autumn was progressing there. I took my macro lens, and had fun poking in hedgerows and hanging over fences the whole way. At one point, I was hanging over a fence, trying to get a shot of a cobweb, when there was a loud banging on the window. I nearly fell over into the garden! The owner is annoyed at me invading their private space!! But no, it was just the postman knocking on the next door.

I timed it wrong! The hooligans schoolchildren were out en masse at the shop, shouting, swearing, pushing, shuffling along in their falling down trousers. When I came back the same way, outside the shop was littered with crisp bags and coke tins. This is a shop that keeps the outside very very tidy. It's also a shop that plays Classic FM. It's my favourite shop. The owners are wonderful. I know they go out and tidy up each time. But why do those young people do that? There are two big bins two steps away. Makes me SO mad.

Talking of litter making me mad...

Yesterday as I was at the bus stop to go into town, there was a workman chipping away at a paving slab. There was a big hole where others had been lifted. The work van was parked in the bus stop.

As his mate came round from the van, he screwed up a piece of paper and threw it on the road. I wished I hadn't seen it, but I did.

My heart was thumping. I knew I was going to have to say something. I didn't want to do it in front of his mate, so I waited while he took photos of the hole from different angles and made notes. I was also hoping the bus would come before I was able to make my move.

He finished and came nearer.

I had a last desperate look to see if the bus was coming...

NO!

"Excuse me,' I think there may have even been a 'sir' in there... ' but you dropped that piece of paper'.

He paused for a moment, then picked it up. And his pal didn't see him. The bus came. Phew.

But I really should stop this. There was the case in the news of the lady who asked a youth to pick up his rubbish at a train station, and the next day he came and pushed her in front of a train! Unbelievable.

Meanwhile, enjoying NOT being on the phone for hours tearing my hair out. Except, of course, the regular loft insulation automated message, and I shout at it that I don't have a loft.

Just as well I didn't shout, 'I don't have a b***** loft!' (not that I would say bad words down the phone, mind you) when it was the Evening Class people saying that the swimming pool was still out of action, and they may have to cancel the classes. Perhaps I'm just not meant to be able to swim properly...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.