Creatively independent

I was peacefully enjoying a drama-free life until today. Last month, two people close to me informed me that they desperately needed money for basic necessities (food, gas, etc.), so I loaned them a couple thousands of dollars. They didn't even thank me (I think one of them may have sent a text message to someone else, asking them to thank me for them, but that was it.)

I soon discovered that they were throwing parties, going on mini vacations, and enjoying the kind of luxurious life I don't have right now. It bothered me, but I stayed quiet. Today was the last straw when I learned that one of them made a large purchase for something they could certainly do without. I confronted them, trying to reason with them, but they got defensive and hostile, telling me to "mind my own fucking business". I'm not worried about getting reimbursed (on their parents' behalf, unfortunately), but I definitely do not appreciate being lied to. I need that money a lot more than they do, because I have bills, thousands of dollars in student loan debt, and no job. I'm really disappointed that they don't understand the value of a dollar.

I talked to Nate about this, and he repeated the words of his hero, Howard Stern, "Never, ever, ever loan anyone any money... ever." According to him, Howard Stern loaned some "broke" relatives money and soon found out that they were enjoying a vacation in Europe. After that, he never gave anyone a cent again.

The people involved in this drama think I'm overreacting. Maybe I am, but it doesn't stop me from feeling upset. I just wish some people weren't so selfish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.