Funeral

The fourth funeral of the year that I have been to. They are always difficult affairs aren't they?

Seeing my father in law shaking with tears was just so awful. I had to reach behind me and hold his hand. Small comfort. Of four children there are only two left and the sister (who stayed with us) is struggling with Alzeimers. Father in law is the oldest which makes no sense when you see how fit and able he is and that his siblings have not been afforded this luxury.

David was two when their mother died. It is a story of tragedy. Of living in an poverty stricken Ireland and living off the land catching rabbits. The grandad used to beat my father in law to the point that once a neighbour intervened. They lived in a hovel which was riddled with rats and had no indoor running water at all.

I know I have spoken of this side of the family at length before but I still find it amazing that someone still alive today lived in such a world. Compare this to the lives of his grandchildren and they are living in paradise.

The photo on the front of the order of service was one I took and posted to blip. I am quite proud that I took a photo which they obviously felt captured the man well enough to be used in such a poignant fashion.

Rest in Peace DJB.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.