PlanW

By PlanW

Message In A Bottle

I was told I'd be discharged by 10.30am, but in the end I got away at around 13.30pm.  The nurse takes you through all sorts of stuff including what to look for on the drain.  I didn't know anything about drains and reacted in horror when one of the nurses mentioned that a solid plastic bottle would be stitched to my side.  Not exactly the case and poor communication on her part but still not a pleasant thing.  The nurse explained the vacuum on the drain and what to do if it failed 'but it probably won't'.   They gave me a new, empty, drain bottle and sent me on my way.

I'd been home a couple of hours, looked at the bottle and saw the vacuum had gone.  I called the district nurse unit as directed but they were very busy and couldn't guarantee when they'd be able to come out.  Not what you want to hear in a situation that is stressful enough as it is.   Back to the hospital .... 

The nurse gave me a new bottle, checked the vacuum and sent me home.  Again.  

I sat on the sofa, virtually motionless to avoid any movement to the drain.  Two hours later, I checked it again.  Vacuum gone.  Back to the hospital ... 

Bottle replaced, vacuum checked, back home.  I was told not to come back a third time but to wait for tomorrow's visit from the district nurse.   Couple of hours.  Gone.  

Now I have a night with a non-functioning drain and an over-functioning brain.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.