Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It IS a sign!

Having leapt up early this morning - sorry, 8.30 is early, isn't it? - to get a couple of loads of washing on, linger over my porridge, coffee and newspapers on my iPad, then ironing while listening to the radio, then to fit in a big bit of slummocking on the sofa with my new new love, Mr TiVo.

Ever skeptical, I thought that being able to record three shows at once and watch another was just ridiculous. There are rarely even two shows on at the same time that I want to watch. But of course this also means overlapping by 5 minutes. So it can be a problem. I have found lots to record but maybe not watch.

Now I don't mind watching TV in the mornings with Mr TiVo - after all, it's not Jeremy Kyle, is it? That would be drastic. I've caught up with five episodes of Cuckoo. It's on BBC Three. That tall funny chap - I know his face - and a famous comic American actor whom I've never seen before but who is very watchable. Some funny scenes, although a bit, well, predictable. But aren't they all? Also watched the American series version of Sherlock Holmes. Funnily enough, with Cumberbatch's pal, Jonny Lee Miller. It's called Elementary and looks quite promising. But why don't they put proper lights on in their houses - they're always so DARK?

Rare is the day that I don't go out. This is blip talk. So in between housework chores, but before Mr TiVo, I took a dander out to pick up some sewing alterations. I stood and watched a golden retriever running running running round and round, chasing low flying swallows, who seemed to be teasing him. He was running miles, with no hope of catching them. Bet he's sound asleep now. That is, if he ever went back to his owner, who was just standing helpless. I seem to spend quite a bit of time watching other people's dogs.

You might think I'm being silly, but I do think it's a sign - I turned around and this little vision was there! I see them everywhere now.

PS: My much anticipated (by me!) four-legged-forthcoming-event clues are here. Look carefully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.