Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

At the feeder

I got up just after daylight this morning and something made me look out the window where I can see the corn feeder for the deer...and there they were.  The Gypsy dog was not happy that I did not let her out to chase them away.   There were only six this morning but I think the rest of the herd was already in the woods behind the house.   They really have nowhere to go now..I can see the houses through the trees behind me when the leaves are off..they are far away but still there.   Across the road in is the new development.    My neighbor complains because they eat her rosebushes.   They ate some of my azalea buds but I don't care.  I keep waiting for some new babies to come by but they may not be born yet..even though the does in this bunch look really skinny.  I hope they keep their babies safe if they are in the woods.  

This young doe seemed to see me even though I was trying to stay behind the edge of the window.    

Or maybe she was just saying good morning and thanks for the food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.