The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Resurrection, death and birth

...in that order!
Last day of term at nursery for me. Lots of toy cleaning. We attended an Easter celebration instead of going swimming. Then had hot cross buns. Walked home. I've finally broken the bus habit!

In the evening, I attended the death cafe in Nailsworth with a friend. http://deathcafe.com/
We sat in a cafe and talked about death. What is said there is confidential, but let's just say discussions were wide ranging and never dull. I shall go again. These books were laid out for people to have a look at. The one that caught my eye was called The Cancer Whisperer. I recently lost a great friend to cancer, and now another friend has been diagnosed with secondaries. It's on my mind.

Afterwards, Angela and I went on to Gari's house for a birthday party. We drank some beautiful wine (Apothik red, it was called, and tasted more like port) and looked at photos of her step-granddaughter in Cornwall, who is five weeks old.
Gari reminded me that we had both been 'weapons inspectors' before Gulf War II. Along with others, we dressed in various costumes and visited the USAF base at Fairford and demanded to be gained admittance to inspect their Weapins of Mass Destruction. We did this a few times. We didn't stop the war, but we made memories and maybe raised awareness.

(The news coming out of Salisbury about chemical weapons is a sobering reminder of the nature of REAL WMDs, nerve agents)

A full-on Wednesday. And now for the holidays! Yippee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.