Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Justine

A rather strange jaunt in town at lunchtime today. There was this blue helicopter that seemed to be flying awfully low down around the East End. I first thought it was on some kind of security operation to protect a VIP visitor, but a colleague thinks it's probably just a film or TV crew. I spent most of my break chasing this thing around Edinburgh, but it never did anything so interesting as to make a compelling blip.

Before I became a helicopter spotter for the day, I took a few pictures of this subject blowing big bubbles on Princes Street outside her shop. I had a surprisingly long chat with her on the art of making soap bubbles, which she was doing with just her cardboard tube. Since bubbles are a standard highlight of my children's birthday parties, I also know they are a nightmare to photograph because of their unpredictability. Today was no exception, hence my showing this portrait of her, very much sans bubbles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.