YorkieFife

By YorkieFife

Polarised!

Take one babysitting photographer:

Add a polarised light-source (Asus tablet), polariser, a tripod and various plastic objects. Set the polariser at such an angle that the viewfinder goes black (cross polarised the light), place objects on the screen and see what happens to the objects.

I've seen various images made with this technique and the internal stresses of the various objects shot has always fascinated me, but this is the first time I've tried to do this, despite owning a polariser since not long after I bought this particular camera and there's been polarised light sources in the house for longer than I've had the polariser.

I know this image doesn't show the effect to it's strongest (others did), but this showed another oimpression that can be had doing this - that of almost being an x-ray. I know it isn't, but I think it gives that feel. The cross polarised effect is still showing in the wonderful rainbow of colours in some arts of it, so all is not entirely lost :)

Anyway, if you want to do this trick, there are various videos on youtube explaining it, or you can leave me a message in the comments and I will try to help you doing it yourself (if, of course, anyone is interested enough in my pics to see this and want to try it ;) I can also put some more up on flickr if there is any interest.

Goodnight, Blippers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.