~PhotoFun~

By Cari

little chick

today we decided to go for a drive and check things out. first on the list was COFFEE! Then off we went. I got some beautiful scenic shots. We came across a turn off for a lighthouse. I LOVE lighthouses! Glenn can't walk much so he waited for me at the bottom. I trudged up the hill. Lots of the local geese called Nene(naynay). Got up to the top and THIS is what I see. Yep. Under construction. Boooooo!! I guess it is the 100th anniversary next year so it's being renovated. bummer. On the way back down I happened to glance into the bushes and there was this adorable little gray fluffy chick. After seeing that one I discovered that they were all over the little hills along the walk. Right there next to me. funny I missed them on the way up. When I got to the bottom I found out they are Wedge-Tailed Shearwater chicks. They migrate from elsewhere to breed. They mate for life but sometimes "divorce" if breeding doesn't go well. They often use the same burrow year after year. Also, on our drive we came across the Hanalei National Wildlife Reserve and there I found Egrets!! These are Cattle Egrets which differ from the ones I photographed at home as they have a creamy orange color on them. I believe this is a young one and the orange color is very faint.

Well, off for more adventures!! Hope everyone is having a nice week :)

Happy Thursday
smile

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.