Heading home (Day 1059)

Another fine, chilly start to the day, and after a wander with the woofers I headed to town to collect some bits then off to Stromness to do a couple of small jobs. I took the long way home via Orphir to deal with another little job.
After lunch, my beautiful wife and I headed across to Evie for a walk on the beach. As we turned to head back to the car, I noticed the Kirkwall Lifeboat charging past and heading for the big tidal race at Eynhallow sound. We watched as we walked and as we reached the car the lifeboat turned and headed home and I managed to get a couple of reasonable shots. Apparently the crew were called out to a report of an overturned dinghy which turned out to be a buoy. A good exercise for the crew, and better that they were called out needlessly than someone was left in trouble. I have a tremendous respect for the men and women of the RNLI, all of them volunteers. They all put their safety and lives at stake to go out in the worst of weather to help others. 
Back at home I got organised and headed to town to make a start on fitting a sink. 
Extra shot today is the first sign of the lifeboat before I changed to a longer lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.