nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Compost

I hadn't realised this was so blurry when I took it, unfortunately it's unrepeatable.  I'm trying to appreciate the colours if nothing else.

I engaged in some spontaneous gardening when I got home from work, as it was still early and fairly warm, and I'd bought  few packets of seeds recently.  The beetroot and sugarsnap peas needed planting straight out so I took the black rubbish bags off my raised bed, removed the weeds from the edges and gave it a fork.  I figured it needed some nutrition so went and poked the compost bin, but opening the lower 'door' didn't look very useful, so I decided to unpack the whole thing, transfer the 'active' stuff to my second and so far unused bin, and access the lower levels of suitable compost.  The higher and mid-levels were so full of worms I couldn't believe it, and there was a noticeable 'slime' layer before it got to the stuff that looked sort of like soil.

I was unexpectedly excited to be using my own stuff to grow things.  This is three years worth, and when I first moved here I had pet rats so I know what the lower levels consist of; I'll be eating reformed rat droppings in those peas and beetroots.

I'm no gardener so I'm probably doing it all wrong.  The closest I got to sieving it was to stomp on the whole eggshells to break them up a bit and to fish out the bits of plastic wrapping that had found their way in.  We'll see what grows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.