Stretching the mind

Yesterday's concert was wonderful. Beethoven 4th Piano Concerto followed by an overwhelming Shostakovich Symphony No 8. In the programme notes it was compared to the Picasso painting Guernica, in terms of expression of horror and historical significance. I walked back to the number 4 bus in an odd and pensive mood.

I’m a glutton for punishment. Today I went to the final dress rehearsal of Shostakovich ‘s macabre and powerful opera “Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk”.

Brilliant. Unexpectedly murderously funny.... strong stuff. Magnificent production. (Not to be confused with Verdi’s “Macbeth” which they’re also doing, relayed last week to cinemas.

It’s not an exaggeration to say that these two operas were the most powerful I’ve ever seen.....

My blip is the view down into the Paul Hamlyn Hall during the interval.

I’d earned my lovely French meal, and a gentle visit to the Impressionists at the Courtauld Gallery.

Home again....and time for a G and T and Masterchef .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.