a w a y

By PoWWow

Nearly there

We felt so green, as the stormy North Sea lashed itself repeatedly and furiously onto the swaying ferry.

Meg had been driving for 14 hours, we just made it + managed to hunker down for a swift kip before boarding the huge boat; "WOW", I felt like a kid. It seemed impossible, but it was really happening.

We'd swigged down huge coffees in an attempt to beat the inevitable impending fatigue and sat there in the fluorescently gaudy cafe giggling at one another turning more and more pale. It was a great decision to take to the deck + marvel at the unforgiving swirling hammerings of the undulating ferocious looking froths of the grey water and squint over the drizzly hazy horizon to welcome the trusty sight of the White Cliffs Of Dover that were beginning to show their faces.

Knackered but elated to be back, entertaining the incredibly cosy realisation that soon, so soon, I'd be in my Mama's arms + I'd be trying not to cry.

Text from Dan : "Engine's roaring, about to set off. Wish me luck!"

10 minutes later, phone call from Dan : "I think that's it for Cheeques. Didn't make it past Le Praz [10 minutes down the road]"

And all of a sudden, I realised out of nowhere what a gloomy day it was outside.

Amazing Meg dropped me just outside London, and although the never ending journey was so nearly reaching its pinnacle, it seemed like a real hard task making it across this manically huge city - feral from so much mountain time + disorientated from weeks of shit sleep, not to mention traumatised from the news of a Cheeques, ill beyond return. I must've looked so glum, trampling aboard the various trains + buses, daydreaming out at the grey Autumn day that sat beyond my sad gaze.

But finally, I found my Mama perched outside our favourite little gallery + then I was in her embrace. There was a warm cozy house waiting for me filled with food + hot showers; take me to it. Shuddering though, at the thought of my abandoned Dan, but reassured when he told me the lads had taken him out for pizza.

Rest In Peace, dear Cheeques. You funny little home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.