Friendly London

This is the famous five star Savoy Hotel. No. I don't stay there (although I went for afternoon tea in May 2011 and blipped it). I stay in hotels on cheap deals booked via the Internet and it is usually an adventure.

This time I've been over the road at the Strand Palace. I don't have their breakfast - overpriced and awful - and today I stumbled over a little cafe in a side street. Italian. Wonderful coffee. And the Milanese owner at full blast in a conversation in Italian on the phone putting the world to rights. Super.

I browsed in Jessops (photographic chain) and a really helpful Lithuanian guy gave me great advice about sorting a problem with my Lumix. And I resisted the Canon 5D.

Bus drivers answer when you wish them good morning. It's very easy to get into conversations on the bus with other people enjoying this magical city.

London must be one of the friendliest capitals in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.