Highest Hill

The highest hill in my  county, Brunswick County, NC, is at the county's land fill.  The county is the 4th largest in NC with 1040 square miles.  This week residents could bring refuse to the land fill for no charge, so I took a small load of household stuff that can't be put in the normal garbage collection such as old paint, plastic flower pots, etc.  As I approached in the long line of others doing the same as I was, it was astounding to see the height of the hill created by trash.  As the photo shows, much of the hill is covered by nice green grass, but all of the light colored part of the hill is exposed refuse and trucks delivering more.  I was allowed to put my stuff near where I was parked in line, so I guess it will be put into a dump truck by machine before being taken to the top of the hill.  Living in a low, coastal county, we are not used to seeing hills as when I lived in the NC mountains, so this hill was shocking, especially given its content.  I took the photo through the front window of the car.  you might find the effect better in full-screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.