HareBrain

By HareBrain

The Manor Reborn

Mr T and I couldn't quite make up our minds where to go today. Sadly, Stroud was off the menu for me as my dear friend is still in Shropshire. I wanted to go to Westonbirt but the weather was iffy and I don't think action man was up to just tagging behind me whilst I took lots of photos of the gorgeous Arboretum!!.

In the end we went to Avebury as we had both seen Penelope Keith and The National Trust's TV programme - The Manor Reborn, last year and were curious to see the finished efforts of so many amazing craftsmen & women offering their services to bring the Manor and gardens back to its present gracious state. There was lots for kids to do and there were lots of them around - half-term - but it was great to see them being allowed to be interactive in most of the rooms; i.e. jumping on four poster beds and trying out the feather mattresses and maybe straw??- playing a very large game of draughts - the board was huge so to the children it was like the scene in Harry Potter where Ron Weasley played chess with massive chess pieces and going on a bat hunt, to name but a few.

The handpainted Chinese wallpaper is found in the Georgian dining room. Penelope Keith says she thinks this is her favourite room and I agree with her.

We have had a lovely weekend, if not a bit jaded now. Back to work for me tomorrow - yuk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.