webbycrash101

By webbycrash101

Ryan

Meet Ryan

By all accounts Ryan shouldn’t be homeless. He’s outgoing, educated and comes from an affluent family. Clearly the streets don’t discriminate.

I’ve caught him on a bad day - his sleeping bad was stolen last night and he’s barely slept, but he still has a smile and surprisingly assured handshake for me. His clear eyes suggest he doesn’t use Spice. I like him instantly. My heart breaks a little when he tells me that his father threw him out when he was 20 and that’s he been on the streets for the 4 years since. He cuts the story short so I don’t push for more information.

We chat a little about the itinerant nature of being homeless - he’s moved around most, if not all, of the Greater Manchester boroughs: Ashton is best for money, the city centre for food. As if to prove the point a young woman approachs with some hot noodles from the market for Ryan. There seems to be a growing trend in giving food instead of money - I can only assume this is because of the grave issue with Spice, and how accessible and cheap it is.

I decide to help Ryan and so return the next day with a warm, waterproof jacket that I barely use - his face lights up like a child on Christmas morning as he tries it on. It’s a perfect fit. I’ve also brought him a book - he gratefully explains that there is no enjoyment to life on the streets: the things we take for granted - watching a film, listening to music, or having friends round for dinner - are completely absent.

Before I leave he tells me about a man who was recently hospitalised after being stabbed by some fellow homeless that he was trying to rob. He was using a razorblade to slice open their pockets in the middle of the night. I ask Ryan whether he thinks this version of street justice is fair - he thinks a “beating” would have been more appropriate. Thieving is clearly rife - people are driven to desperation and have little, or nothing, to lose. Ryan vows to wear his new jacket at all times to prevent it being stolen - I hope it isn’t.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.