Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Lovely Book Club Creatures.

John Fante's Ask The Dust

My choice this month, didn't like it much though. Most disappointing, it definitely sounded so much better than it turned out to be! At least I've read it now, I've only had it sitting on a shelf since 1999...

You know how there are just some things that you never get around to reading? And then you have them so long that you forget you haven't read them?
No?
Just me then.
I may have too many books....

It wasn't awful and did have some genuinely beautiful bits, but that didn't make up for the fact that I found it mostly very irritating and wanted to give the guy a good slap for being such a twat. However, it would be boring if we all liked everything. Sometimes its the books we don't much like that provide the most discussion anyway!

To be honest we quickly moved on to much more entertaining faintly bizarre topics and much hilarity ensued. :D


ps. I'm not sure what Ser is doing here but I love his expression! Everybody looks so serious which is odd when we pretty much sat there and cackled for 2 hours solid!

pps. Really loving MsInk's skull jumper. So want one. Would go perfectly with my skull skirt ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.