Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Congratulatons Tami!

Today was more than busy and started for me with an early morning routine appointment with my doctor. It's actually not routine because I don't like medical doings so I only go when it is absolutely necessary. So I needed a prescription refilled and my doctor wouldn't agree to have it refilled if I did not come in for a check-up. So . . . well, you get the idea. While I was there she talked me into having a flu shot and she ordered blood work, which she called "routine." My weight was eight pounds less than three-years ago when I had last been there (wish I had gone in a year ago, I would have been down 18 instead of 8) and today my blood pressure was something like 104 over 81, which I think is good.

Then this afternoon was the last evaluation meeting for my friend and colleague, Tami. Even though I was not on her hiring committee, I was placed on her evaluation team four years ago when she was hired. The past year, I've gotten to know her much better and we now co-lead an assessment project and oversee the part-time instructors who teach the basic writing classes. The past couple of months we've traveled together several times to attend an important workshop that happened over a period of 5 separate days. She will officially receive tenure as of March 2013 when the Board of Trustees does their routine approval of this decision made by her evaluation team. So my photo tonight is honoring her. Congratulations Tami!

I took the photo late this afternoon when Mr. Fun and I stopped at the Galleano Winery. I thought about Tami and the celebration she is having tonight even if she isn't doing anything special except breathing in the reality that she has now earned her tenure at the college. So Tami, "Cheers!"

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.