This stamp means I get to stay in the UK

The horror stories about how the British Government has treated the Windrush generation and other people from the Commonwealth makes me grateful I have this stamp glued into my very first passport. On the downside, if I ever l lose that I will be utterly f**ked.

'Why not get UK citizenship?' people ask me.

Because I shouldn't have to. Because I earned the right to live and work here as long as I wish. Because I've paid taxes for 28 years, which is more than non-doms in the upper reaches of the British Government have done.

I've spent more than half my life in the UK but I still live in fear someone will decide to kick me out to satisfy some spurious 'tens of thousands' target. If you don't believe the current government's hostile environment policies are to blame, read this article about a disabled woman originally from Canada being treated like dirt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.