Richard Barbieri (and Tangerine Dream)

I have a lot of time for Richard Barbieri. From his days as the keyboard player in Japan and then Rain Tree Crow, to his time with Porcupine Tree, and then his various side projects and solo work. Apart from anything else, he is a master synth programmer, as you can hear particularly on Japan's 'Tin Drum'. 

It was his support slot at the Union Chapel, tonight, playing before Tangerine Dream that decided me on going to the gig. I wasn't sure about seeing the headliners as, like the philosophical conundrum of the 'Grandfather's axe', there is some argument as to whether the band is really Tangerine Dream, since none of the touring party is an original member and its founder, Edgar Froese, has passed away. Also, I've never really found their music that interesting.

But it was also an opportunity to see my chum, John, and we met for a couple of beers in the Hope and Anchor before crossing the road to the Union Chapel, which is possibly my favourite venue in London.

Richard Barbieri was very enjoyable, despite being limited to a thirty minute performance. Hand on my heart, I couldn't say that I recognised any of the handful of tracks that he played, apart from an instrumental of Japan's 'Ghosts', but it was interesting both aurally and visually as he tweaked the sounds he was using. Indeed, it was almost a performance piece. He told us that he usually liked to chat between songs but didn't have the time, this evening, although he did mention that one piece of his on stage hardware dated back to his Japan days: 1976!

Tangerine Dream, to be honest, were a bit of a curate's egg. Like Richard Barbieri, their set was mostly them starting a piece and then working with the sounds. Indeed, they seemed to have their entire studio on stage. Bits of the set were sonically or musically interesting but it did go on a bit. Occasionally applause would break out but I'm pretty sure people were only guessing it was the end of a track.

Towards the end, Richard Barbieri joined Tangerine Dream on stage for an improvised piece and I did enjoy that, not least because he was clearly having such a good time. I doubt I'd go and see TD again but RB? Definitely!

****
-10.5 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Reality Is Not What It Seems'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.