Wendover Arm, Grand Union Canal

I called here this morning for a quick wander having dropped C off to Sue's  in Wendover. They were both going to a crafting day in Great Missenden. 

Almost all of the Wendover Arm of the Grand Union Canal is not navigable by boat but parts are being restored. This particular stretch would be a challenge as the bridge I am standing on would have to be rebuilt because it is very low & close to the surface of the water, the original hump backed bridge being knocked down long ago.

Home afterwards to do some furniture shifting then after a quick sandwich I went to see mum. She had just about recovered from having the French arm of the family staying with her. Just as I was leaving my phone rang - it was Carol asking me to go fetch her from Wendover. Ooops I was 40 minutes away but I did it in 30 ...

Home now & C is worried about what I have done upstairs & is delaying going up to see ??!!

A cold day cloudy with the odd shower - we have a Yellow Warning tonight for torrential rain tonight then more snow tomorrow,

Thanks for calling in.

By the way blue bridge in the distance was built by a Rothschild in order to cross the canal to his stately home Halton House, which is now the officer's mess belonging to RAF Halton. 

More about the Wendover Arm here:

http://wendoverarmtrust.co.uk/history-of-the-arm.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.