Autumn Almanac

My Dear Fellows & Dear Princess Normal,

Autumn Almanac might be one of my favouritest songs ever. I'm not sure what it is about Ray Davies, but he seemed to have knack for writing lyrics that spoke to me like a mate who was there when that thing happened that time.

I hear this song and in my head I can see sodium lamps reflected on puddles in the pavement, and the smell of bonfire smoke in the air, and the break-lights of rush-hour traffic disappearing into the distance.

And it is feeling distinctly Autumnal. The nights are drawing in, the radiant heater is on and it is sausages for tea.

In my head it is "Maymember" (preceded by Apriltober and to be followed by Junecember).

You know, I have no news for you today. I worry that I am leading a dull life after the excitement of last year and you are all going to get bored with me. The most exciting thing is that I have started watching "Arrested Development" again. 

I think I last watched it in 2007. I did try the Netflix revival, but didn't like it as much. But now I've started back at the very beginning when it was funny. This is because I read that they have completely re-edited the Netflix version to make it funnier. Which sounds weird, but hey.

My favourite joke so far was when Gob uses company money to buy a yacht called "The Seaward" and his responsible brother Michael complains about it just as their evil mother Lucille arrives...

MICHAEL: Gob, get rid of the Seaward.
LUCILLE: I'll leave in my own good time.

I also liked it when Lindsey has been using company money to buy herself new clothes - 

MICHAEL: Lindsey, where did you get the money for that outfit?
LINDSEY: Oh this? Mother gave it to me. She's such a sweet old thing.
MICHAEL: Only two of those words are applicable to her, and where are you going anyway?
LINDSEY: I'm going to see... "Old Thing".

Hahahahahaaaa

Right. I'm off to the kitchen to make something warm and stodgy for tea.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.