Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Inspired

I went to have a look at the Sony World Photography Awards exhibition at Somerset House. Rain was tipping down when I arrived, so much so that there were no pigeons to be seen playing in the fountains there. I was glad that I began in the West Wing where the "Also Rans" are on display, many of which are, to be perfectly frank, rather less inspirational than perusing blip over a cup of coffee. I should mention the landscapes of Italian marble quarries, I liked those a lot. Nothing else from that side of the exhibition really springs to mind now. But in the East Wing were the Winners' Galleries which I found much, much more fun. A special mention for the Greek entry, and probably not because I am biased actually, but because it made me smile all the way to my core.

On my way home I spotted these guys working late. I guess that much of their day had had to be postponed because of the rain, but they did seem to be enjoying the evening sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.