Heat

Dan went to a gig in Manchester with his eldest sister, Charlie, last night. He was self-sufficient in organising this and in getting himself to Manchester but I think he shied away from the logistical challenge of getting to work, this morning. In the end, then, Charlie drove him up to the services on the M61 where I met them at 8am and I took him from there to Morecambe.

Which, one way or another, meant that I didn't start my run from Higher Wheelton until after well after 10 o'clock. It was already warm and I didn't even start off wearing my jacket, I just crammed my gels into my shorts' pockets, strapped on my Camelbak, and set off, through Brinscall and then Withnell, up to the A675.

It was warmer but I felt fine as I ran along the road, not particularly enjoying the verge where there was no footpath, it has to be said. But it was beautiful alongside the reservoir, where members of the Bolton sailing club were out on the water, as I came into Belmont. 

From here I took the Rivington Road up over the top of the hills. It was steep but I still felt fine, sipping from my Camelbak occasionally, and, once I was over the top, enjoying the views ahead of me, and casting cheerful hellos to the pushbikers on their way up to the top. 

I was across Rivington Reservoir when I realised that I was beginning to lose it. By now I'd done maybe 10 miles. Bearing in mind that I've run 13 miles most weekends since last October, I wasn't expecting this. I a glucose bean and kept sipping at my water but I have to say that I didn't much enjoy the last four miles and the last two were a question of mind over matter.

It was only when I staggered through the doorway and the Minx commented on how much I'd caught the sun that I realised that I'd simply failed to take account of the heat. It sapped the energy from me without me really noticing. And even though I'd been taking on water all the way 'round, I promptly downed three pints of water. I need to up my intake in hot weather!

After that, we went to the Bees' for lunch in Chorley Market, happily bumping into Dom and his delightful* son who were also eating there. And then it was on to the garden centre where I must admit I simply crashed out in the car.

But I was pretty much fully recovered by the evening when we went out for a couple of drinks and a curry in Kirkby Lonsdale with our friends, Janice and Chris. Relaxing over a meal with friends is one of my chief pleasures in life, especially with these two, whom I'm known for, God, twenty-five years: lots of joy and laughter.

*he laughed at my jokes. 

****
-14.0 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Reality Is Not What It Seems'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.