horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

1000 miles aboard an Elephant

Today I hit the 1000 mile mark on the lumbering Elephant Bike. Actually, lumbering is probably unfair, as despite its 23kg base weight, it's surprisingly nimble and stable on my daily 9-and-a-bit-miles-each-way commute. And despite concerns when I first got the bike that the weight, combined with a simple three-speed hub, would make for a tiresomely difficult ride to and from work; since it debuted on the route in January, I haven't taken any other bike to the office.
 
The former cross bike has stuck resolutely to its task as turbo-bike, with one outdoor venture on a sportive; the current cross bike has more than a year's inactivity to be fettled out of it; and the bamboo bike is still a plan, though finally with a deadline looming. But Chumba (so-named in recognition of me getting, literally, back in the saddle after last June's arm-breaking fall) has never been a difficult choice for the daily journey.
 
That's not to say there haven't been some bumps in the road, or little niggles to get round. I swapped over the saddle to a big, sprung Brooks off another old bike in the garage; also changed the ledals to something with more grip after a first wet commute saw my slipping off the plastic supplied ones more times than was convenient; and put in a longer stem so I could ride more upright (being 6'3" I'm probably getting towards the top end of comfort on the bike); but those were both choices, rather than forced.
 
The chain tensioner developing a killer squeal took a bit of time (first off in locating, then determining the best lube to mute it), and I think I'll replace that with a shiny new Sturmey Archer tensioner before long. I keep telling myself I need to get a chainguard, as the inside of a pair of cycling trousers gradually gets more oily (though they're black, so not too noticeable), and it sometimes seems slightly odd that a utility bike would come without one. I need to watch my big feet, as the heel of my right foot keeps clipping the gear selector chain. And the paint finish perhaps isn't the most durable, at least not on the pannier rack where the bag clips on.
 
I'll undoubtedly keep tweaking - I've some wooden slats planned for the metal basket up front, as the gaps are currently too big to throw a bag of shopping in; and I'm tempted to try and find some cream coloured tyres - just because. And that chainguard. But save for the occasional day when the headwind feels just the wrong side of beatable, there's not a thing I regret about getting the Elephant. It's big and burly, keeps me upright, and forces me to go slower (though I've recently hit 26.5mph on the flat!), which was all the point. It takes maybe 10 minutes longer to go to and from work, but to do so in more comfort, and able to actually 'enjoy' the ride, without feeling the need to compete, is great.
 
The slower pace actually helps with the endurance training, that is then bolstered by targeted turbo sessions (leading to easily my best sportive performance to date a couple of weeks back); and it gives me the option of dressing a bit more 'normally' if I'm going to be meeting someone in town on the way home.


And all that for less than £300. Okay, so if I had to choose one bike for all then for wanting to go up hills, or take on off-road terrain, I'd go for a cross bike; but I don't think I've had a better value-for-money steed than this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.