Raising Paets

A chilly and cloudy morning, but the skies cleared by lunchtime, and a warm and sunny afternoon.  The sunshine continued all evening.

I've been working on the museum desk all day.  There was a small cruise ship in Lerwick, only 130 passengers, and most came for a look at the museum.  I had a busy morning setting up for tonight's events.  Straight to the peat hill after tea.  Mam has been over for a cuppa, now walkies with Sammy, before putting my feet up. 

A few hours in the peat hill, and finished all my casting.  Mam came for a look, and she helped me raise the peats I cast two weeks ago.  They are drying fine, and more weather like today, and they'll be ready to take home sooner.  Still plenty more work ahead first.  Here's me busy raising the peats.  Stacking them so they get off the wet grass, and let the wind blow about them.  Taken at Brunt Hamarsland. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.