Back to the graveyard 2

You can't drive past the deserted graveyard without noticing the vivid colours of the trees. Every time I turn the corner after the church, I think - I must come back with the camera. Well, today I did.

This graveyard is no longer used. It was attached to the Chapel for St Matthews Hospital, a mental institution. I have blipped this fascinating but neglected place a few times.

Spring view
On that occasion, I got talking to some of the local guys, and learned some of the history. When the patients died, they were buried in graves with nothing more than a number and an indication of whether they were male or female.....

These days it is the haunt of crazy squirrels and birds - some sightings of barn owls I have been told.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.