Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I've heard sirens all afternoon and wondered what it was... and then this one hovered around in the area. I got the answer when I put the news on. There's  been a big forest fire in the area where I take my walks. It's been burning in two places and there's been a lot of firemen and police at the scene. People have been evacuated from their homes, but I think that's more a precaution incase the fire turns. My home isn't near the fire.
Obviously the only real thing in this photo is the helicopter. I've added my favourite filter and then an overlay that happened to frame the helicopter. But, as I see it...it's a bit of a tribute to the fire and police personell that work so hard to keep the rest of us safe. 11 firetrucks, and I think I read that there where 13 police units at the scene, about 30 homes were evacuated and a farmer and his tractor helped out with getting the fire under control. According to the news, the fire is under control now. But there was so much smoke that even the bus, which usually has its end station near the fire had to move. It was parked outside where I live instead. There's a bus stop across the street, but I was a bit surprised to see this bus until I put two and two together. And I guess that's how it's going to be for some hours, because here comes the next bus. 
It's so dry outside now that we've had prohibition for outside fires (or what they're called) and even the smallest spark can set things on fire. It's a bit scary because some people don't think... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.