Vanessa Vulcania

She may just look like one of our Red Admirals, but Vanessa Vulcania, the Canary Red Admiral is now recognised as a separate species. She’s bigger than ours, and redder, and I managed to capture a photo this afternoon as we walked a particularly beautiful stretch of the Levada dos Tornos.

This morning was amazing. The Madeira Classic Car Exhibition completely took over the town. Classic Cars, motorbikes, scooters and all sorts of other vehicles were spread all over the centre of Funchal. Even the Popemobile that was used for the most recent Pontiff’s visit was parked in front of the Cathedral. I took hundreds of photos (and my extra is for one of our littlest blippers, if his Oma points it out to him.)

I couldn’t choose one particular car...and when we had a fabulous walk in the Parish of Gaula (also an extra) this afternoon, I decided on the butterfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.