"So long and thanks for all the films"

Tonight, should have been the fifth Surprise Cinema. I loved the idea; rent the cinema at Victoria Warehouse, invite along a bunch of friends, and show them a film, the surprise being that they wouldn't know what the film was. 

And although every evening was enjoyable, it became a bit of a worry, corralling people to come along; I began to feel like I was nagging them a bit. But, you know, people have lives and kids and other arrangements and that's that. 

Anyway, when I was out running up near Rivington a few weeks ago and thinking about arranging this month's Surprise Cinema and worrying about the nagging, I suddenly thought "I won't do it" and immediately felt a relief. That told me it was time to let it go.

Today, I went into the office and there was a parcel for me, a rose plant! I don't think anyone has ever sent me flowers before. The message read "So long and thanks for all the films." Given the Douglas Adams reference, I think they must be from that lovely fellow, Dom. I will ask him tomorrow.

****
-12.6 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Company Of Liars'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.