Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Who do you think I am?

I’ll tell you. I’m Do-It-Yourself man and this is how I stop myself inhaling too much plywood dust.

Plywood was described to me by my friend Mr G as ‘an unforgiving material’ although personally I don’t think forgiveness comes into. It works for me. I gutted and recreated a cupboard to use as a larder today and it all went very well. Helps having powerful tools like a bench saw. Also helps that my house backs on to a timber yard.

Anyway job done as they say. To help me come back to earth without too much of a bump I subscribed to the Hay Player which is awesome. They have archive sound recordings going back the best part of 20 years and lots of recent video. Did cause some trauma as TSM was able to hear herself talking to Jimmy McGovern fifteen years ago about Hillsborough (she was there and witnessed its horrors directly, something that still affects her deeply). But that’s the thing about Hay; it works at a very personal and interactive level.

Back to work tomorrow. I am thinking a lot about value after my encounter with Mariana Mazzucato yesterday. Specifically how much of my work life has value to me. Watch this space ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.