Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Make do

Ramadan in Kuwait means that the Muslims fast from sunrise to sunset. And drinking, eating and smoking in public is not allowed. For everyone. So all the cafes and restaurants are closed. Supermarkets are open but that’s it. I’ve had to give up my daily coffee so this is my work around. Much cheaper too. I also can’t drink at the pool or gym, despite there being almost no one there until about 3 or 4pm when people rush in to train before breaking the fast at about 645pm. Some with frayed tempers I believe, and understandably so. It’s a long day of fasting and the lack of water in this heat would be unbearable. I’m lucky I can discretely drink water in the changing rooms at the pool.

And then the city comes alive after Iftar when the fast is broken. I’m looking forward to going out to experience it later in the week.

The backdrop to the picture is my Ramadan tablecloth that I brought over from Cairo with me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.